Meet the Officials

freeform-bg
2023 - March 2024 City Council 
New Council Photo Coming Soon

Council Photo 12-04-23 - Copy
(Left to right)
Payton Williams, (Interim) Neal Grimes, D. Hunter Thrift, JacQuez Johnson,
Mayor Raleigh York, Jr., Doug Hunt, Lisa Shell and (Interim) Pat Shelton

Mayor & Council
Thomasville City Council is composed of seven at-large officials and the Mayor, all of whom were elected. Scroll down for individual contact information.

City Manager
The City Manager, appointed by the City Council, is the key administrative officer of the City. He is assisted by a leadership team and staff. The City Manager carries out the policies approved by the City Council and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the City. Michael M. Brandt, AICP, ICMA-CM, was appointed on December 21, 2020.

City Clerk
The City Clerk is an appointed official who edits, compiles, and publishes the minutes of City Council Meetings. Council meeting agenda packets with supporting documents are also assembled in the Clerk's office. Minutes and agendas can be found by clicking here.. The City Clerk also records and tracks all official actions taken by City Council, fills public record requests, and prepares  ordinances, resolutions, proclamations and other official documents. Wendy Martin, MMC, NCCMC, NCCP was appointed on May 19, 2014.

Council Meetings
Council Meetings are currently being held at 20 Stadium Drive at 6:00 PM on the 3rd Monday of the month, unless otherwise posted at City Hall or on the City's website. The Mayor, City Council, City Manager, Assistant City Manager, City Clerk, and City Attorney all attend City Council Meetings. These meetings are played live on Spectrum (formerly Time Warner Cable) Channel 13 in Davidson County. Past meetings can also be viewed online here.


Elected Officials

_DSC7036 Mayor
Raleigh York, Jr.
raleigh.york@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 475-6076
Term: 2021-2025
Neal Grimes Council Member
Neal Grimes
neal.grimes2@thomasville-nc.gov 
(336) 259-5554
Term: Dec. 2023-2025
_DSC7014 Council Member
Doug Hunt
doug.hunt@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 240-4819
Term: 2021-2025
JacQuez Johnson Council Member
JacQuez Johnson
jacquez.johnson@thomasville-nc.gov 
(336) 995-0720
Term: 2023-2027
Lisa Shell Council Member
Lisa Shell
lisa.shell@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 307-1666
Term: 2023-2027
Photo Coming Soon Council Member
Scott Styers
scott.styers@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 688-0980
Term: April 15, 2024- December 2025
_DSC7035 Council Member
D. Hunter Thrift
hunter.thrift@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 870-8735
Term: 2021-2025
Payton Williams Council Member
Payton Williams
payton.williams@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 687-0015
Term: 2023-2027


Administration

_DSC7041

City Manager
Michael Brandt, AICP, ICMA - CM
michael.brandt@thomasville-nc.gov
336-475-5599

_DSC7005

Deputy City Manager
Eddie Bowling
eddie.bowling@thomasville-nc.gov 
336-475-4222

 

City Clerk 
Wendy Martin
wendy.martin@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 475-4214

 

Administrative Assistant 
Rita Leta
rita.leta@thomasville-nc.gov
(336) 475-5538

 

City Attorney
Misti Whitman
(336) 476-3158