Recreation Committee


The Recreation Commission was originally established in 1983 by the Thomasville City Council. In 2002, the Council changed the name to Recreation Committee. The Recreation Committee's task is to advise the Council and the parks and recreation department as to public recreation concerns, including, but not limited to long-term goals, capital outlay, fees and charges, and programs.

Committee members do not need to be city residents, but must have an interest in recreation programs provided by the city. Members serve three-year terms. One member is appointed by the Mayor, and six are appointed by the City Council. Appointed members may serve no more than two, 3-year terms. In addition, a City Council member and a Thomasville City School Board member are appointed as ex officio members.

Recreation Committee Statutes

Staff Contact: Cory Tobin, Parks & Recreation Director
(336) 475-4281
1 East Main Street, Thomasville NC

Board Meeting Date/Time & Membership

The Recreation Committee meets the first Tuesday of every month at 12:00 noon at the Thomasville Aquatics and Community Center, 20 Stadium Dr. Thomasville, NC 27360 

For the most recent agendas click here.

  • Steve Bare - TCS Athletic Director
  • Elisha Hope - Thomasville School Board Representative
  • Jarrod Dunbar - Chairperson
  • Justin Finch
  • Scott Styers
  • Kathleen Sarette
  • Colon Starrett
  • D. Hunter Thrift - Council Representative - appointed by the Mayor
  • William Tagliaferri
  • John "Tony" Vizzini