Notice: City Loose Leaf Collection Begins Monday, November 4 and runs through early February 2020. For more information follow this link.

Tourism Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
sunset at lake 2

The Thomasville Tourism Commission was created by the City Council in 1993 to promote Thomasville as a tourist destination. Funding for the Commission is provided by the application of a hotel occupancy tax paid by visitors that stay in any lodging within the Thomasville city limits. This tax generates approximately $150,000 annually. Funds are used to promote Thomasville through activities, events, promotions, and marketing to bring visitors to the community.

The City Council appoints the members of the commission to three-year terms; members may serve an unlimited number of terms. Some members fill specific roles on the committee to insure that there is community input from a number of businesses and organizations.

Day-to-day operations are managed by full-time Tourism Director Jarrod Dunbar.


Visitor Center Information: 

44 West Main Street
Thomasville, NC 27360

Phone: (336) 472-4422




Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Commission Meeting Date/Time & Membership:

The Commission meets on the 4th Tuesday of every month at 8:30 a.m. in the City Hall board room, Mezzanine level, 10 Salem Street, Thomasville, NC, unless otherwise noted on the website.

TOMMY BALLARD - At-Large - Treasurer

ERIK BANKS - Retail Representative  

JIMMY DAVIS - Restaurant Representative

JUSTIN FINCH - Advertising Representative - Secretary

CHRISTY JONES - At-Large - President


LAWANNA MAJOR - Hotel Representative

JANE MURPHY - Council Liaison

JESSICA NANCE - Retail Representative - Vice President


DANA TRANTHAM - Chamber Representative